The Central Vigilance Commission (CVC) was established in 1964, as an apex body for exercising general superintendence and control over vigilance administration, through the Government of India Resolution of 11.2.1964. The main mandate of the Commission was based on the report of the Committee on Prevention of Corruption, popularly known as the Santhanam Committee. The establishment of the Commission was considered essential for evolving and applying common standards in deciding cases involving lack of probity and integrity in administration. The Resolution empowered the CVC to undertake inquiry into any transaction in which a public servant is suspected or alleged to have acted for an improper purpose or in a corrupt manner irrespective of his or her status. Through subsequent ordinances and legislations the Government has added to the functions and powers of the Commission. Subsequent to the directions of Hon’ble Supreme Court in the judgement of the Writ Petition filed in public interest by Shri Vineet Narain and others in Jain Hawala Case, the Government promulgated an Ordinance in 1998. The Ordinance of 1998 conferred statutory status to the CVC and the powers to exercise superintendence over functioning of the Delhi Special Police Establishment, and also to review the progress of the investigations pertaining to alleged offences under the Prevention of Corruption Act, 1988 conducted by them. In 1998 the Government introduced the CVC Bill in the Lok Sabha in order to replace the Ordinance, though it was not successful. The Bill was re-introduced in 1999 and remained with the Parliament till September 2003, when it became an Act after being duly passed in both the Houses of Parliament and with the President’s assent. The provisions of the Act include inquiries into offences alleged to have been committed by certain categories of public servants of the Central Government; corporations established by or under any central Act; government companies; societies; and local authorities owned or controlled by the Central Government; and for matters connected therewith or incidental thereto. To give effect to the provisions of the Act of 2003, the Commission exercises all powers and functions entrusted to it under the Government of India Resolution No.24/7/64-AVD dated 11.2.1964, which are not inconsistent with this Act.


Important Features of the CVC Act, 2003

· The Commission shall consist of a Central Vigilance Commissioner (Chairperson) and not more than two Vigilance Commissioners (members).

· The Central Vigilance Commissioner and the Vigilance Commissioners shall be appointed by the President on recommendation of a Committee consisting of the Prime Minister (Chairperson), the Minister of Home Affairs (Member)  and the Leader of the Opposition in the House of the People (Member).

· The term of office of the Central Vigilance Commissioner and the Vigilance Commissioners would be four years from the date on which they enter their office or till they attain the age of 65 years, whichever is earlier.

· The Commission, while conducting the inquiry, shall have all the powers of a Civil Court with respect to certain aspects.

Commission’s Jurisdiction under CVC Act

· Members of All India Services serving in connection with the affairs of the Union and gazetted officers of the Central Government.

· Board level appointees and other senior officers upto two grades below the Board level, in the Public Sector Undertakings of the Central Government;

· Officers of the rank of Scale V and above in the Public Sector Banks; · Officers of the rank of Assistant Manager and above in the Insurance Sector (covered by LIC and GIC and four non-life insurance companies in the Public sector); and

· Officers drawing basic pay of Rs. 8700/- (Pre-revised) per month and above in autonomous bodies/local authorities or societies owned or controlled by the Central Government.

Present Commission

The Commission was set up as a single member body in 1964. In terms of the Central Vigilance Commission Act 2003, the Commission has been made a multimember body, consisting of the Central Vigilance Commissioner (CVC) and two Vigilance Commissioners (VCs) as its members. The appointment of the CVC as well as that of the VCs has been made by the President on the recommendations of a Committee consisting of (a) the Prime Minister, (b) the Minister of Home Affairs and (c) the Leader of the Opposition in the Lok Sabha. At present  SHRI PRADEEP KUMAR, IAS is  the Central Vigilance Commissioner, appointed by the President.



Date of Birth

Post /Position held before Joining the Commission

Date from which holding the  post          

Date of   Relieving

Central Vigilance Commissioner - Chair Person  


Shri Pradeep Kumar


Secretary, Ministry of Defence



Vigilance Commissioners- - Members


Shri R Sri Kumar



Shri  J M Garg



Staff Composition

The Central Vigilance Commission is assisted by a Secretary (of the rank of Additional Secretary to the Government of India), four Additional Secretaries (of the rank of Joint Secretary to the Government of India) and other staff which include 28 officers (of the rank of Director/Deputy Secretaries), two OSD and four Under Secretaries. This includes fourteen Commissioners for Departmental Inquiries (CDIs) (11 Director level and 03 Deputy Secretary level) who are nominated to conduct departmental inquiries relating to major penalty proceedings on behalf of the disciplinary authorities in serious and important disciplinary cases. The group-wise staff strength of the Commission is as under:

Group wise Staff Strength* and related information, as on 21/03/2012



Group ‘A’

Group ‘B’

Group ‘C’

Group ‘D’


Sanctioned Strength







Officials in  position






*Excluding the post of CVC & VCs

Commissioners for Departmental Inquiries (CDIs)

There are fourteen posts of Commissioners for Departmental Inquiries (CDI) in the Commission, 11in the rank of Directcor and 03 in the rank of Deputy Secretary. The CDIs function as Inquiry Officers to conduct Oral inquiries in departmental proceeding initiated against public servants.

Technical Wing

The Chief Technical Examiner’s (CTE) Unit, which is the technical wing of the Commission, assists it actively with two Chief Technical Examiners (of the rank of Chief Engineer), who in turn are assisted by eight Technical Examiners (of the rank of Executive Engineer), six Assistant Technical Examiners (of the rank of Assistant Engineer) and other subordinate staff. The CTE unit of the Commission is engaged in examination of civil and electrical works including air-conditioning and horticulture works, being executed by Ministries/ departments of Government of India, central public sector undertakings, banks and financial institutions and cooperative bodies etc., falling within the jurisdiction of the Commission. The inspection of stores purchase contracts and works for computerisation etc. are also undertaken by the CTE Unit.